Skip to content

Happy Belated Banned Books Week!

October 3, 2011

Last week was Banned Books Week, and though I should have done a post on one of my favorite banned or challenged books I….didn’t.  However, I did respond to the challenge on the Banned Books Week website and YouTube channel and posted a video of me reading an excerpt from a banned or challenged book. (As you can see I obviously care tremendously about personal appearance on public videos 😉  Anyways, as stated in the video, I chose to read from A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle because I discovered on the aforementioned BBW website that during the 1990s when I was just a wee elementary school student (and voraciously reading Madeleine L’Engle books) MY HOME COUNTY–Catawba County, North Carolina– attempted to ban A Wrinkle in Time.  How sad is that?  So here, for your listening (but perhaps not viewing) pleasure, is an excerpt from A Wrinkle In Time.  Enjoy!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

